Home Консульские вопросы Medical Insurance

Medical Insurance for Foreign Citizens Traveling to Belarus

Effective October 1, 2000 medical insurance is required for all foreign citizens traveling to the Republic of Belarus.

To be eligible for emergency medical care in Belarus all foreign citizens should have the medical insurance agreement with a Belarusian insurance company or with an authorized foreign insurance company and possess the insurance certificate (policy) issued by the company. If insurance companies of your country do not have such agreements the insurance may be purchased upon your arrival at border crossing points of Belarus.

The insurance certificate (policy) issued by the foreign insurance company should be valid on the territory of the Republic of Belarus during the stay and should cover the insurance cases established by the Law of the Republic of Belarus. The minimum insurance limit of responsibility is five thousand US dollars.

The representatives of Belarusian insurance companies will provide foreign citizens with necessary insurance agreements and certificates on the border of the Republic of Belarus.

Citizens of the Republic of Belarus and corporate bodies registered in Belarus inviting foreign citizens to visit Belarus are entitled to complete the medical insurance agreements for their invitees.

Medical insurance is not required for:

  • Holders of Belarusian transit visas traveling to other countries via Belarus;
  • Holders of diplomatic and official passports;
  • Heads of the Foreign States and Governments, Members of the Parliamentary, Governmental and Official delegations invited by the Governing Bodies of the Republic of Belarus;
  • Heads and Members of the Diplomatic and Consular Missions;
  • Members of International Organizations in the Republic of Belarus;
  • International Air Flights and Rail Trains crewmembers;
  • Foreign Air Force crewmembers and other military persons arriving to take part in the combined military exercises;
  • Persons with representative authorities on the border of the Republic of Belarus;
  • Citizens of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS);
  • Holders of the Laissez-Passer issued by the United Nations;
  • Holders of the Travel documents (“Titre de Voyage”) issued to stateless persons and refugees.